Oldest Universities in Tanzania


What are the oldest Universities in Tanzania? uniRank tries to answer this question by publishing a list of 32 Tanzanian Universities ordered by year of establishment and meeting the following uniRank selection criteria:

  • being chartered, licensed or accredited by the appropriate Tanzanian higher education-related organization
  • offering at least four-year undergraduate degrees (bachelor degrees) or postgraduate degrees (master or doctoral degrees)
  • delivering courses predominantly in a traditional, face-to-face, non-distance education format
Our aim is to highlight which Tanzanian Universities have the longest history and tradition and how this correlates to their uniRank University Ranking.

Oldest Universities in Tanzania

sort by:
filter by:

# University Town
17 Moshi Co-operative University Moshi
1 University of Dar es Salaam Dar es Salaam ...
23 The University of Arusha Arusha
2 Sokoine University of Agriculture Morogoro ...
11 Mbeya University of Science and Technology Mbeya
13 Catholic University of Health and Allied Sciences Mwanza
25 International Medical and Technological University Dar es Salaam
12 Tumaini University Makumira Arusha
15 Hubert Kairuki Memorial University Dar es Salaam
18 Abdulrahman Al-Sumait Memorial University Zanzibar City
24 Zanzibar University Zanzibar City
9 St. Augustine University of Tanzania Mwanza ...
8 The State University of Zanzibar Zanzibar City ...
4 Mzumbe University Morogoro
10 Muslim University of Morogoro Morogoro
26 Mwenge Catholic University Moshi
19 Mount Meru University Arusha
21 Teofilo Kisanji University Mbeya
3 The University of Dodoma Dodoma
16 St John's University of Tanzania Dodoma
5 Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences Dar es salaam
6 Ardhi University Dar es Salaam
7 Nelson Mandela African Institution of Science and Technology Arusha
31 Eckernforde Tanga University Tanga
29 University of Bagamoyo Dar es Salaam
14 St. Joseph University in Tanzania Mbezi
27 Sebastian Kolowa Memorial University Lushoto
28 United African University of Tanzania Dar es Salaam
22 University of Iringa Iringa
30 Mwalimu Julius K. Nyerere University of Agriculture and Technology Butiama ...
20 Ruaha Catholic University Iringa
Un Katavi University of Agriculture Mpanda
Legend: Un Unranked

Related resources