Universities in Tanzania

Higher Education in Tanzania

2023 Ranking of Tanzanian Universities New

What are the most popular Universities in Tanzania? uniRank tries to answer this question by publishing the 2023 Tanzanian University Ranking of 31 Tanzanian higher-education institutions meeting the following uniRank selection criteria:

  • being chartered, licensed or accredited by the appropriate Tanzanian higher education-related organization
  • offering at least four-year undergraduate degrees (bachelor degrees) or postgraduate degrees (master or doctoral degrees)
  • delivering courses predominantly in a traditional, face-to-face, non-distance education format

Explore the uniRank League Table and University Ranking of 31 Universities in Tanzania

2023 Sub-rankings by regions New

The United Republic of Tanzania is divided into 31 regions (Swahili: mikoa), which are further subdivided into 169 districts (Swahili: wilaya). The larger number of higher education institutions meeting the uniRank selection criteria are located in the region of Dar es-Salaam, which hosts the largest city and former capital of Tanzania. The following uniRank sub-rankings or league tables take into account all regions which include at least 2 Tanzanian higher education institutions meeting the uniRank selection criteria.

Arusha (4)   Dar es Salaam (8)  
Dodoma (2)   Iringa (2)  
Kilimanjaro (2)   Mbeya (2)  
Mjini Magharibi (3)   Morogoro (3)  
Mwanza (2)  

Tanzanian University lists

Other Tanzanian University lists: