Oldest Universities in New Zealand


What are the oldest Universities in New Zealand? uniRank tries to answer this question by publishing a list of 8 New Zealand Universities ordered by year of establishment and meeting the following uniRank selection criteria:

  • being chartered, licensed or accredited by the appropriate New Zealand higher education-related organization
  • offering at least four-year undergraduate degrees (bachelor degrees) or postgraduate degrees (master or doctoral degrees)
  • delivering courses predominantly in a traditional, face-to-face, non-distance education format
Our aim is to highlight which New Zealand Universities have the longest history and tradition and how this correlates to their uniRank University Ranking.

Oldest Universities in New Zealand

sort by:
filter by:

# University Town
2 University of Otago Dunedin
3 University of Canterbury Christchurch
8 Lincoln University, New Zealand Lincoln ...
1 University of Auckland Auckland
4 Victoria University of Wellington Wellington
5 Massey University Palmerston North ...
6 University of Waikato Hamilton ...
7 Auckland University of Technology Auckland
Legend: Un Unranked

Related resources